30 Days of Blogging is almost over, and today I got home a little later than usual because we had an event on campus, so I'm tired but still have to do something for Day 25. I still have topics left to cover, and ideas on how to do so, but I'm not going to use some of the topics, for various reasons.
For example, my friend Dee asked if I could explain why 30 is considered "the gay death". I can't answer that because I don't believe it. It's something stupid that a youth-obsessed (and usually youthful) portion of gay culture babbles about while they're still too shallow to know any better. Ask them again at 35, and they will have hopefully moved on to something besides going out every night and wearing dress shoes without socks while they attempt to rock some age-inappropriate Bieber hair. Dee asked about this because she wanted a better understanding of why people say it, but I can't answer because I don't really understand it, either. It's just always sounded like bullshit to me.
Dee also jokingly suggested that I write about porn. I'm not going to write about that because I don't really have any particular feelings about it. It exists, it serves its purpose, people like different kinds and there seems to be a kind for everybody, and some people like it more than other people.
"What I enjoyed most/least about being in HS marching band" was a suggestion from my friend Melisa. I remember marching band as fun, but that's all I remember. It's just kind of a blur of fun busrides and hot uniforms. I don't have a clear enough memory of it to say that there was anything in particular that I did or didn't like.
Finally, looking over my list, there's one question that I just can't answer. From my friend Sandy:
Who is the worst Real Housewife and why!
This is the "Sophie's Choice" of blog topics.
How can I pick one, and cast the others aside?
Showing posts with label writing. Show all posts
Showing posts with label writing. Show all posts
Thursday, April 25, 2013
Tuesday, April 9, 2013
Mid-Project Reflection
It is Day 9 of 30 Days of Blogging, an adventure that's turning out to be a little more challenging than I thought it would be. I've looked at a few of the suggested topics a few times and had absolutely nothing to say, so I've been avoiding them, because I don't want to write something terrible just to write something. There have also been a few nights where I just don't feel like writing, but have to anyway because I have this project. I'll need to keep sucking that feeling up and writing through it if I'm ever going to finish another novel and maybe, this time, sell it. (See, there's a goal to this project.)
And, at least last night, I was so tired I could barely write at all. Seriously, that entry was about four sentences long, and I fell asleep in the middle and had to finish it a half hour later when I was awakened by my glasses falling off and smacking the keyboard.
Sorry about that.
I'm also starting to feel a little bit like a narcissist. I've spent nine days now writing about myself. What I think, what I like, where I go, how I feel. Granted, I've been doing that for years on a roughly weekly basis just by having a blog, but it feels like a lot of me all at once. Do people really want to know these things? Why do they want to know them? And do they want to know these things all at once? I assume so, since people actually suggested topics, but it's definitely strange talking this much about myself. How the hell do people write memoirs without getting tired of using the word "I"?
I guess I just feel weird today. I have topics, and I have things to say about them. A few entries are outlined in my head, but for some reason I just can't get any of them onto the screen. It's not writer's block, exactly, but I'm not sure what the word should be for it instead. Writer's... pause?
We'll go with that.
Tonight, we're on pause. I've written something, and it might even be something useful in the scope of the overall project. Introspection and reflection are an important part of any project, so I'm just fully immersing myself in the process of daily writing, right?
Totally.
And tomorrow I'm going out to eat, so maybe Day 10 will write itself.
And, at least last night, I was so tired I could barely write at all. Seriously, that entry was about four sentences long, and I fell asleep in the middle and had to finish it a half hour later when I was awakened by my glasses falling off and smacking the keyboard.
Sorry about that.
I'm also starting to feel a little bit like a narcissist. I've spent nine days now writing about myself. What I think, what I like, where I go, how I feel. Granted, I've been doing that for years on a roughly weekly basis just by having a blog, but it feels like a lot of me all at once. Do people really want to know these things? Why do they want to know them? And do they want to know these things all at once? I assume so, since people actually suggested topics, but it's definitely strange talking this much about myself. How the hell do people write memoirs without getting tired of using the word "I"?
I guess I just feel weird today. I have topics, and I have things to say about them. A few entries are outlined in my head, but for some reason I just can't get any of them onto the screen. It's not writer's block, exactly, but I'm not sure what the word should be for it instead. Writer's... pause?
We'll go with that.
Tonight, we're on pause. I've written something, and it might even be something useful in the scope of the overall project. Introspection and reflection are an important part of any project, so I'm just fully immersing myself in the process of daily writing, right?
Totally.
And tomorrow I'm going out to eat, so maybe Day 10 will write itself.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)